Specialist InVoice

Biography

The Danish baritone Bo Skovhus studied in Aarhus, Copenhagen and New York. Vienna, where his career 1988 began at the Volksoper, is still his artistic center. 1997 was awarded the title of Austrian Chamber singer.

Among the roles he played in leading opera houses in Europe and North America were Don Giovanni, Count Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro), Don Alfonso (Così fan tutte), Mandryka (Arabella), Count (Capriccio), Barber (Die silent wife), Stork (Intermezzo), Eugene Onegin, Wozzeck, Jeletzki (Queen of Spades), Danilo (The Merry Widow), Eisenstein (The Bat), Wolfram (Tannhäuser), Kurwenal (Tristan and Isolde), Amfortas (Parsifal) and Beckmesser (The Mastersingers of Nuremberg), Rodrigue (Don Carlos), Frank and Fritz (The Dead City) as well as the title role in HW by Walterhausen's Colonel Chabert.


Bo Skovhus' engagements in recent years include the title role in Reimann's Lear in Hamburg, Nick Shadow (The Rake's Progress) in Duisburg and Turin, the monodrama Siegfried, nocturne written for him by Michael Jarrell at the Wagner Geneva Festival 2013, and Count Almaviva in concert Nikolaus Harnoncourt at the Theater an der Wien and scenic in Düsseldorf, Amfortas at the Deutsche Oper Berlin and Kurwenal with the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra in New Zealand.


In the 2014/15 season he sang the Count in Capriccio at the Lyric Opera of Chicago, Peter (Hansel and Gretel) in Madrid, Danilo and the title role in Dallapiccola's Il prigioniero in Cologne and Dr. Schön (Lulu) at the Bavarian State Opera. After his acclaimed appearance in Rihm's Die Eroberung von Mexico at the 2015 Salzburg Festival, he is among others as Beckmesser and Lear at the Paris Opéra, in the title role in Werner Egks Peer Gynt at the Theater an der Wien, as Mandryka at the Vienna State Opera and in the Title roles in Der Graf von Luxemburg and Wozzeck are on stage in Düsseldorf.

At the Salzburg Festival he made 1990 debuts in Krenek's Orpheus and Euridice and has since appeared here as Frank and Fritz, Count Almaviva and Don Alfonso as well as in recitals and concerts.

As part of his opera and concert appearances, Bo Skovhus has worked with many of the most respected conductors of our time. He has also distinguished himself internationally as an outstanding song interpreter. His concert repertoire focuses on the works of Gustav Mahler, the Scandinavian compositions as well as Frank Martin's Everyman Monologues and Zemlinsky's Lyrical Symphony.

FachGesang

Biografie

Der dänische Bariton Bo Skovhus studierte in Aarhus, Kopenhagen und New York. Wien, wo seine Karriere 1988 an der Volksoper begann, ist nach wie vor sein künstlerisches Zentrum. 1997 wurde ihm der Titel eines Österreichischen Kammersängers verliehen.

Zu den Rollen, mit denen er an führenden Opernhäusern Europas und Nordamerikas Erfolge feierte, zählen Don Giovanni, Graf Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro), Don Alfonso (Così fan tutte), Mandryka (Arabella), Graf (Capriccio), Barbier (Die schweigsame Frau), Storch (Intermezzo), Eugen Onegin, Wozzeck, Jeletzki (Pique Dame), Danilo (Die lustige Witwe), Eisenstein (Die Fledermaus), Wolfram (Tannhäuser), Kurwenal (Tristan und Isolde), Amfortas (Parsifal) und Beckmesser (Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg), Rodrigue (Don Carlos), Frank und Fritz (Die tote Stadt) sowie die Titelpartie in H. W. von Waltershausens Oberst Chabert.


Bo Skovhus’ Engagements der letzten Jahre umfassen u.a. die Titelrolle in Reimanns Lear in Hamburg, Nick Shadow (The Rake’s Progress) in Duisburg und Turin, das für ihn geschriebene Monodrama Siegfried, nocturne von Michael Jarrell beim Wagner Geneva Festival 2013, Graf Almaviva konzertant unter Nikolaus Harnoncourt am Theater an der Wien und szenisch in Düsseldorf, Amfortas an der Deutschen Oper Berlin und Kurwenal mit dem Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra in Neuseeland.


In der Saison 2014/15 sang er den Grafen in Capriccio an der Lyric Opera of Chicago, Peter (Hänsel und Gretel) in Madrid, Danilo und die Titelrolle in Dallapiccolas Il prigioniero in Köln sowie Dr. Schön (Lulu) an der Bayerischen Staatsoper. Nach seinem umjubelten Auftritt in Rihms Die Eroberung von Mexico bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2015 wird er u.a. als Beckmesser und Lear an der Pariser Opéra, in der Titelrolle in Werner Egks Peer Gynt am Theater an der Wien, als Mandryka an der Wiener Staatsoper sowie in den Titelrollen in Der Graf von Luxemburg und Wozzeck in Düsseldorf auf der Bühne stehen.

Bei den Salzburger Festspielen debütierte er 1990 in Kreneks Orpheus und Euridike und war hier seither als Frank und Fritz, Graf Almaviva und Don Alfonso sowie in Liederabenden und Konzerten zu erleben.

Im Rahmen seiner Opern- und Konzertauftritte hat Bo Skovhus mit vielen der angesehensten Dirigenten unserer Zeit zusammengearbeitet. Daneben hat er sich international als herausragender Liedinterpret profiliert.- Schwerpunkte seines Konzertrepertoires liegen bei den Werken von Gustav Mahler, den skandinavischen Kompositionen sowie z.B. bei Frank Martins Jedermann Monologen und Zemlinskys Lyrischer Sinfonie.