Brigitte Fassbaender
Specialist InGesang

Biography

Brigitte Fassbaender is the daughter of actress Sabine Peters and the baritone and chamber singer Willi Domgraf-Fassbaender. The first vocal training she received from her father, who also remained her only singing teacher. From 1958 to 1961, Brigitte Fassbaender studied at the Conservatory in Nuremberg and was already a member of the Bavarian State Opera from 1961, where she was a member of the ensemble for almost 30 years. Guest engagements have taken her to all the world's leading opera houses (including Covent Garden, Teatro alla Scala, San Francisco Opera, Metropolitan Opera, Vienna State Opera or the Opéra national de Paris). Brigitte Fassbaender was also a regular guest at 1972 at the Salzburg Festival, 1983 and 1984 as Waltraute in the Götterdämmerung at the Bayreuth Festival.

In the operatic field, Brigitte Fassbaender embodied a very different range of roles, which included not only roles such as Octavian in Der Rosenkavalier (her parade role for many years), Sesto in La clemenza di Tito, Dorabella in Così fan tutte or Charlotte in Werther (one of her favorite roles), but also Prince Orlofsky in Die Fledermaus, Orestes in Die schöne Helena, Brangäne in Tristan and Isolde, the title role in Carmen, Eboli in Don Carlos, Marina in Boris Godunov, Klytämnestra in Elektra, the Lady Milford in the world premiere of Gottfried von Einems opera Kabale und Liebe (UA 17.12.1976 Vienna State Opera) or the Countess Geschwitz in Götz Friedrich's production of Alban Berg's Lulu at the Deutsche Oper Berlin (1982). She was considered a prototype of the singing actress, because singing never meant an end in itself for her, but was always associated with dramatic passion, detailed work in the scene and psychological penetration of the works.

Another focus of her work was the concert and song singing. Brigitte Fassbaender gave annual recitals from 1983 at the Wigmore Hall in London and from 1985 at the Schubertiade. Her repertoire included songs by Franz Liszt, Richard Strauss, Johannes Brahms, Franz Schubert and Gustav Mahler, among others. As the only woman to date she recorded the three great Schubert cycles (Die schöne Müllerin, Die Winterreise, Schwanengesang). 250 CD and LP recordings, most of them in the song and concert area, document their significance as a singer. Her recordings have received numerous awards, including twice the prestigious Gramophone Award (1987, 1992).

1994 ended her career as an opera, song and concert singer to focus on opera and drama. Her work focuses on works by William Shakespeare. From 1995 to 1997, Brigitte Fassbaender was an interim opera director at the Staatstheater Braunschweig. In the years from 1999 to 2012, she directed the Tiroler Landestheater as artistic director. 2002 took over the artistic direction of the Eppaner Lied summer. In addition, she held the artistic direction of the Richard Strauss Festival in Garmisch-Partenkirchen from 2009 to 2017. Since 2005, she succeeds Wolfgang Sawallisch as chairman of the Richard Strauss Society (RSG) in Munich.

Brigitte Fassbaender is also active as a vocal pedagogue. She passes on her knowledge in masterclasses / workshops in Germany and abroad to the young singers. Her students include Juliane Banse, Michelle Breedt, Anke Vondung, Christiane Libor, Martin Mitterrutzner and Janina Baechle.

Brigitte Fassbaender translated the librettos of Jacques Offenbach's Robinson Crusoé (2006) and Michael Nyman's Love Counts (2008). 2010 wrote the lyrics for Lulu - the musical (after Frank Wedekind, music: Stephan Kanyar). The premiere took place on the 15. May 2010 at the Tiroler Landestheater in Innsbruck. There followed at the 5. May 2012 premiered the musical Shylock !, to which she also wrote the libretto (after Shakespeare's tragicomedy The Merchant of Venice, music: Stephan Kanyar).

Source: de.wikipedia.org

Brigitte Fassbaender
FachGesang

Biografie

Brigitte Fassbaender ist die Tochter der Schauspielerin Sabine Peters und des Baritons und Kammersängers Willi Domgraf-Fassbaender. Die erste gesangliche Ausbildung erhielt sie von ihrem Vater, der auch ihr einziger Gesangslehrer blieb. Von 1958 bis 1961 studierte Brigitte Fassbaender am Konservatorium in Nürnberg und war bereits ab 1961 Mitglied der Bayerischen Staatsoper, der sie fast 30 Jahre als Ensemblemitglied angehörte. Gastverpflichtungen führten sie an alle führenden Opernhäuser weltweit (u.a. Covent Garden, Teatro alla Scala, San Francisco Opera, Metropolitan Opera, Wiener Staatsoper oder der Opéra national de Paris). Brigitte Fassbaender war außerdem ab 1972 regelmäßiger Gast bei den Salzburger Festspielen, 1983 und 1984 trat sie als Waltraute in der Götterdämmerung bei den Bayreuther Festspielen auf.

Im Opernbereich verkörperte Brigitte Fassbaender ein ganz unterschiedliches Rollenspektrum, das nicht nur Partien wie Octavian in Der Rosenkavalier (über viele Jahre ihre Paraderolle), Sesto in La clemenza di Tito, Dorabella in Così fan tutte oder Charlotte in Werther (eine ihrer Lieblingspartien) umfasste, sondern auch Prinz Orlofsky in Die Fledermaus, Orestes in Die schöne Helena, Brangäne in Tristan und Isolde, die Titelrolle in Carmen, Eboli in Don Carlos, Marina in Boris Godunov, Klytämnestra in Elektra, die Lady Milford in der Uraufführung von Gottfried von Einems Oper Kabale und Liebe (UA 17.12.1976 Wiener Staatsoper) oder die Gräfin Geschwitz in Götz Friedrichs Inszenierung von Alban Bergs Lulu an der Deutschen Oper Berlin (1982). Sie galt als Prototyp der singenden Schauspielerin, denn Singen bedeutete für sie nie Selbstzweck, sondern war stets verbunden mit darstellerischer Leidenschaft, Detailarbeit im Szenischen und psychologischer Durchdringung der Werke.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ihres Wirkens war der Konzert- und Liedgesang. Jährliche Liederabende gab Brigitte Fassbaender ab 1983 in der Wigmore Hall in London und ab 1985 bei der Schubertiade. Ihr Repertoire umfasste Lieder u.a. von Franz Liszt, Richard Strauss, Johannes Brahms, Franz Schubert oder Gustav Mahler. Als bisher einzige Frau nahm sie die drei großen Schubert-Zyklen (Die schöne Müllerin, Die Winterreise, Schwanengesang) auf. Über 250 CD- und Schallplattenaufnahmen, ein Großteil davon im Lied- und Konzertbereich, dokumentieren ihre Bedeutung als Sängerin. Ihre Tonträger erhielten zahlreiche Preise, darunter zweimal den renommierten Gramophone Award (1987, 1992).

1994 beendete sie ihre Karriere als Opern-, Lied- und Konzertsängerin, um sich der Regie von Oper und Schauspiel zu widmen. Ein Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit liegt dabei auf Werken von William Shakespeare. Von 1995 bis 1997 war Brigitte Fassbaender interimistische Operndirektorin am Staatstheater Braunschweig, in den Jahren 1999 bis 2012 leitete sie als Intendantin das Tiroler Landestheater. 2002 übernahm sie die künstlerische Leitung des Eppaner Lied-Sommers. Darüber hinaus hatte sie von 2009 bis 2017 die künstlerische Leitung des Richard-Strauss-Festivals in Garmisch-Partenkirchen inne. Seit 2005 ist sie als Nachfolgerin von Wolfgang Sawallisch Vorsitzende der Richard-Strauss-Gesellschaft (RSG) in München.

Brigitte Fassbaender ist außerdem als Gesangspädagogin tätig. Ihr Wissen gibt sie in Meisterkursen/Workshops im In- und Ausland an den sängerischen Nachwuchs weiter. Zu ihren Schülern zählen unter anderem: Juliane Banse, Michelle Breedt, Anke Vondung, Christiane Libor, Martin Mitterrutzner und Janina Baechle.

Brigitte Fassbaender übersetzte die Libretti von Jacques Offenbachs Robinson Crusoé (2006) und von Michael Nymans Love Counts (2008). 2010 verfasste sie den Text für Lulu – das Musical (nach Frank Wedekind, Musik: Stephan Kanyar). Die Uraufführung fand am 15. Mai 2010 im Tiroler Landestheater in Innsbruck statt. Dort folgte am 5. Mai 2012 die Uraufführung des Musicals Shylock!, zu dem sie ebenfalls das Libretto geschrieben hatte (nach Shakespeares Tragikomödie Der Kaufmann von Venedig; Musik: Stephan Kanyar).

Quelle: de.wikipedia.org