Specialist InTrompete

Biography

Otto Sauter is known worldwide as one of the leading trumpet soloists. As a specialist on the piccolo trumpet, he has performed in all major concert halls.

The musical talent of the Tengen on Lake Constance born Otto Sauter was promoted early. At the age of four, he received the first trumpet lessons. Already with 16 years he began his studies with Claude Rippas at the conservatory in Winterthur. There he acquired 1984 his teaching and orchestral diploma and a year later the soloist diploma. After graduation, he deepened his studies with Bo Nilsson in Malmö, Sweden and Pierre Thibaud in Paris.

From 1988 to 1998 he was principal trumpeter in the Philharmonic State Orchestra in Bremen. Due to his great dedication in promoting young musical talent, he brought to 1991 the annual International Trumpet Days Bremen, one of the leading brass festivals in the world, with concerts by Ray Charles, Maurice André, Montserrat Caballé, Clark Terry, Maynard Ferguson. 1994 founded the International Trumpet Academy Bremen, a unique educational model for the most talented young trumpet players from around the world. Otto Sauter is a busy teacher at international universities. 1988 he was appointed to the College of Arts in Bremen. 1995 has given him the Toho Gakuen School of Music in Tokyo and the Universidad Metropolitana de Santiago de Chile Guest Professorships.

Otto Sauter is one of the most sought-after soloists on the piccolo trumpet. In December 1995 he played with the Philharmonia Orchestra London at St. James Palace in the presence of the host Prince Charles. 1998 he guested on the occasion of the founding of the "German Society for the Restoration of Vatican Art Treasures" in the Vatican. There he played 2000 in August before Pope John Paul II and 50.000 audience visitors accompanied by the Philharmonia Hungarica during the "Festa Musica Pro Mundo VNO". Since the spring of 2001, he is a regular guest in his own cycle of sacred music "Elevazione Spirituale" in the Vatican. In April 2001, he performed in the "Forbidden City" in Beijing, accompanied by the China National Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Muhai Tang.

In honor of the 50 anniversary of UNICEF Germany, he has initiated a series of concerts for 2003 in Germany's most beautiful churches and cathedrals, as well as the opening gala of the Schafhof Festival for UNICEF by Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff, the former World Champion and Olympic gold medal winner in dressage. After singing at the Hohentwiel he invites every year great artists such as Montserrat Caballé, Bobby McFerrin, Michael Mendl, Lucia Alibert, Mathieu Carrière, to give for his foundation, the Otto Sauter relief fund, a charity concert.

With the series "World of Baroque" Otto Sauter has started at EMI Classics, recordings of his 600 works comprehensive scores of lost compositions of baroque and early classical masters such as A. Scarlatti, G. Reutter or JM Molter, as world premiere recordings and public including arias with soprano (including Maki Mori) and altus (including Jochen Kowalski).

As a specialist on the piccolo trumpet, Otto Sauter is not only dedicated to baroque music, but also supports the expansion of the repertoire of contemporary original literature for the piccolo trumpet. For example, he commissioned works by Julien Francois Zbinden, Harald Genzmer and Jan Koetsier. 2004 presented three world premieres of works by the Czech composer Juraj Filas, whose teacher was a student of Dvorák, two of them at the Beethoven Festival in Bonn: The Concerto for Piccolo Trumpet and Symphony Orchestra, performed with the Bonn Beethoven Orchestra, by The Bonner Rundschau was characterized as "music as emotionally vehement as Mahler and melodiously as beautiful as Puccini" as well as the "Apassionata" for trumpet and organ.

The year 2008 was dedicated to the premiere of the new trumpet concerto for piccolo trumpet and symphony orchestra by Mikis Theodorakis, written by the internationally renowned Greek composer for Otto Sauter. Sauter himself says of his collaboration with Mikis Theodorakis: "Rarely has a human being so fascinated me, so often moved to tears. Mikis, the man who has suffered so much mischief, but whose life and creative power is unbroken. Mikis, the composer whose music touches millions, thrills, makes happy and captivates - makes him immortal. When I work on Mikis' work, I breathe the scent of the cypresses, I hear the sound of the Aegean, I feel every single note of Mikis Theodorakis ". Sauter presented the work at the Philharmonie in Cologne and Berlin with a world premiere of the Ring (directed by Gert Hof / Arrangement Robert Gulya).

True to his motto "Exceptional music needs extraordinary places", Otto Sauter opened the annual "Wartburg Festival" in May 2004. At the legendary Wartburg, the UNESCO World Heritage Site, where Martin Luther once translated the Bible, he brings together good friends and renowned artists such as Klaus Mertens, Matthias Eisenberg, Jochen Kowalski, Paul Kuhn, Spanish Brass, STING guitarist Dominic Miller, Level 42 keyboardist Mike Lindup , Edson Cordeiro, Michael Mendl and many others to fascinating festival concerts in the ballroom of the 1.000 year old castle.

In July 2005, Otto Sauter opened the international choir and music festival "Musica Sacra a Roma" in Rome and the Vatican as Artistic Director. World stars of music, such as the Italian soprano Lucia Aliberti, the Malmö Symphony Orchestra, the organists Michael Schönheit Christian Schmitt and many more, came together with 32 choirs from 20 nations in exclusive festival concerts in the most beautiful and important churches of Rome and the Vatican to set an international sign for world peace and ecumenism. "Musica Sacra a Roma" is under the patronage of His Eminence Cardinal Paul Poupard, President Pontifical Consilium De Cultura, Vatican.

On the occasion of the Mozart Year 2006 he initiated the "Little Amadeus Action Day" at German elementary schools together with the TV producer Peter Will of the eponymous successful TV series. The animated series of KI.KA, ARD and ZDF - has been awarded several times with the "Echo Klassik für Kinder". The project under the patronage of the German Mozart Society aims to introduce children to classical music in an entertaining way. He initiated 2007 as Artistic Director in cooperation with Volkswagen AG Wolfsburg and Deutsche Post AG, the Little Amadeus Live Children's Concert Series. The elaborate stage show with actors, original filmmakers, soloists and symphony orchestra presented itself in around a year in 70 concerts in Germany, Austria and Switzerland, among others at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Gewandhaus Leipzig, the Mozarteum Salzburg, the concert halls Dortmund and Freiburg and the Transparent Factory of Volkswagen in Dresden (directed by Joachim Jäckel / screenplay Klaus Wirbitzky). For the first of three planned Little Amadeus movies he recorded the music with the Vienna Philharmonic and Zubin Mehta.

In addition to his solo career, he also caused a stir with his ensemble "Ten of the Best", which unites ten of the world's best trumpeters and with whom he regularly performs successfully on Japan, USA and Europe tours. In August 2001 they opened the Arena AufSchalke, the most modern football stadium of its kind in the world, with a fanfare specially created for this event in front of 70.000 spectators. Highlight 2006 under his artistic direction was the "Playtime Live City Concert Tour", the Germany-wide music festival within the framework of the FIFA World Cup 2006TM, supported by the Organizing Committee FIFA WM 2006. Theo Zwanziger with 16 event concerts from Bremen to Ludwigshafen, from Rügen to Norderney, on prestigious public squares as well as on sites of cultural and historical significance, such as the Saxon State Opera Dresden, Semperoper and the marketplace in the Handel city of Halle. As music projects, Otto Sauter presented "Ten of the Best plus one", which was launched at the request of FIFA with 11 trumpeters, and "The Power of Parsifal", an all-star team of the international jazz scene, both in interaction with the symphony orchestras of the concert cities.

Otto Sauter regularly collaborates with renowned artist colleagues and character actors from the theater genre, whom he invites to present new programs in concerts, at festivals and tours. The programs form a synergy of music and literary texts such as "Casanova: Reunion with a Great Love" with Mario Adorf, "Venetian Christmas" with Michael Mendl, "Heinrich von Kleist: Saint Cecilia or the Violence of Music" with Mathieu Carrière or the "Diaries of Cosima Wagner" with Mareike Carrière.

Otto Sauter works with orchestras and artists such as Wiener Philharmoniker, Philharmonia Orchestra London, RSO Prague, RSO of MDR and HR, Czech Philharmonic, Malmö Symphony Orchestra, Beethoven Orchestra Bonn, Bachcollegium Leipzig, Sinfonia Varsovia, Vienna Chamber Orchestra, Munich Chamber Orchestra, Kiev State Orchestra Cappella Istropolitana, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim, Christoph Poppen, Marcello Viotti, Hugh Wolff, Roman Kofmann, Mikis Theodorakis, Edita Gruberova, Maria Farantouri, Ray Charles, Maynard Ferguson, Maurice André, Jose Carreras, Gosta Winberg, Ivo Porgorelich, Elena Bashkirova, Montserrat Caballe, Lucia Aliberti, Jochen Kowalski, Bobby McFerrin, Michael Mendl, Mario Adorf, Mareike and Mathieu Carrière, Gert Hof, Edson Cordeiro, Level 42 keyboardist Mike Lindup, Orange Blue guitarist Roland Cabezas, Sting guitarist Dominic Miller and many more

FachTrompete

Biografie

Otto Sauter ist als einer der führenden Trompetensolisten weltweit bekannt. Als Spezialist auf der Piccolo-Trompete ist er bereits in allen großen Konzertsälen aufgetreten.

Die musikalische Begabung des in Tengen am Bodensee geborenen Otto Sauter wurde früh gefördert. Im Alter von vier Jahren erhielt er den ersten Trompetenunterricht. Bereits mit 16 Jahren begann er sein Studium bei Claude Rippas am Konservatorium in Winterthur. Dort erwarb er 1984 sein Lehr- und Orchesterdiplom sowie ein Jahr später das Solistendiplom. Nach seinem Examen vertiefte er seine Studien bei Bo Nilsson in Malmö, Schweden und Pierre Thibaud in Paris.

Von 1988 bis 1998 war er Solotrompeter im Philharmonischen Staatsorchester in Bremen. Aufgrund seines großen Einsatzes in der Förderung des musikalischen Nachwuchses, rief er 1991 die jährlich stattfindenden Internationalen Trompetentage Bremen, eines der führenden Blechbläserfestivals der Welt, ins Leben mit Konzerten von u.a. Ray Charles, Maurice André, Montserrat Caballé, Clark Terry, Maynard Ferguson. 1994 gründete er die Internationale Trompeten-Akademie Bremen, ein einzigartiges Ausbildungsmodell für die talentiertesten Nachwuchstrompeter aus der ganzen Welt. An internationalen Hochschulen übt Otto Sauter eine rege Lehrtätigkeit aus. 1988 wurde er an die Hochschule für Künste in Bremen berufen. 1995 übertrugen ihm die Toho Gakuen School for Music in Tokio sowie die Universidad Metropolitana de Santiago de Chile Gastprofessuren.

Otto Sauter ist einer der gefragtesten Solisten auf der Piccolo-Trompete. Im Dezember 1995 spielte er mit dem Philharmonia Orchestra London im St. James Palace in Anwesenheit des Hausherrn Prinz Charles. 1998 gastierte er anläßlich der Gründung der „Deutschen Gesellschaft zur Restaurierung der vatikanischen Kunstschätze“ im Vatikan. Dort spielte er auch im August 2000 vor Papst Johannes Paul II. und 50.000 Audienzbesuchern in Begleitung der Philharmonia Hungarica während der „Festa Musica Pro Mundo VNO“. Seit Frühjahr 2001 gastiert er regelmäßig mit seinem eigenen Zyklus geistlicher Musik „Elevazione Spirituale“ im Vatikan. Im April 2001 konzertierte er in Begleitung des China National Symphony Orchestra, unter der Leitung von Muhai Tang, in der „Verbotenen Stadt“ in Peking.

Zu Gunsten des 50jährigen Bestehens von UNICEF Deutschland hat er 2003 eine Reihe von Konzerten initiiert und gegeben in Deutschlands schönsten Kirchen und Kathedralen, sowie die Eröffnungsgala des Schafhof-Festivals für UNICEF von Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff, der ehemaligen Weltmeisterin und Olympia Goldmedaillengewinnerin im Dressurreiten. Nach Singen am Hohentwiel lädt er jedes Jahr große Künstler wie Montserrat Caballé, Bobby McFerrin, Michael Mendl, Lucia Alibert, Mathieu Carrière ein, um für seine Stiftung, den Otto-Sauter-Hilfsfond, ein Benefizkonzert zu geben.

Mit der Serie „World of Baroque“ hat Otto Sauter bei EMI Classics begonnen, Konzerte seiner rund 600 Werke umfassenden Notensammlung verschollener Kompositionen barocker- und frühklassischer Meister wie u.a. A. Scarlatti, G. Reutter oder J. M. Molter, als Welt-Ersteinspielungen aufzunehmen sowie öffentlich aufzuführen, darunter auch Arien mit Sopran (u.a. Maki Mori) und Altus (u.a. Jochen Kowalski).

Otto Sauter widmet sich als Spezialist auf der Piccolo-Trompete aber nicht nur der Barockmusik sondern setzt sich auch für die Erweiterung des Repertoires an zeitgenössischer Originalliteratur für Piccolo-Trompete ein. So gab er u.a. Werke in Auftrag bei Julien Francois Zbinden, Harald Genzmer und Jan Koetsier. 2004 präsentierte er drei Welt-Uraufführungen von Werken des tschechischen Komponisten Juraj Filas, dessen Lehrer ein Schüler von Dvorák war, davon zwei auf dem Beethoven Fest in Bonn: Das Konzert für Piccolo Trompete und Sinfonie Orchester, aufgeführt mit dem Bonner Beethoven Orchester, das von der Bonner Rundschau als „Musik so emotional vehement wie Mahler und melodisch so schön wie Puccini“ charakterisiert wurde sowie die „Apassionata“ für Trompete und Orgel.

Das Jahr 2008 stand im Zeichen der Uraufführung des neuen Trompeten-Konzertes für Piccolo-Trompete und Sinfonie Orchester von Mikis Theodorakis, das der international renommierte griechische Komponist für Otto Sauter geschrieben hat. Sauter selbst sagt über seine Zusammenarbeit mit Mikis Theodorakis: „Selten hat ein Mensch mich so fasziniert, ja so oft zu Tränen gerührt. Mikis, der Mensch, dem so viel Unheil widerfahren ist, dessen Lebens- und Schaffenskraft jedoch ungebrochen ist. Mikis, der Komponist, dessen Musik Millionen berührt, begeistert, glücklich macht und in ihren Bann zieht – ihn unsterblich macht. Wenn ich an Mikis‘ Werk arbeite, atme ich den Duft der Zypressen, höre ich das Rauschen der Ägäis, spüre ich in jeder einzelnen Note Mikis Theodorakis“. Mit einer Ring-Uraufführung präsentierte Sauter das Werk in der Philharmonie in Köln und Berlin (Regie Gert Hof/ Arrangement Robert Gulya).

Getreu seinem Motto „Außergewöhnliche Musik braucht außergewöhnliche Orte“ eröffnete Otto Sauter im Mai 2004 das jährlich stattfindende „Wartburg-Festival“. Auf der legendären Wartburg, dem UNESCO Weltkulturerbe, wo einst Martin Luther die Bibel übersetzte, vereint er gute Freunde und namhafte Künstler wie Klaus Mertens, Matthias Eisenberg, Jochen Kowalski, Paul Kuhn, Spanish Brass, STING Gitarrist Dominic Miller, Level 42 Keyboarder Mike Lindup, Edson Cordeiro, Michael Mendl u.v.m. zu faszinierenden Festivalkonzerten im Festsaal der 1.000 jährigen Burg.

Im Juli 2005 eröffnete Otto Sauter als Künstlerischer Leiter das internationale Chor- und Musikfestival „Musica Sacra a Roma“ in Rom und im Vatikan. Weltstars der Musik, wie die Italienische Sopranistin Lucia Aliberti, das Malmö Symphony Orchestra, die Organisten Michael Schönheit Christian Schmitt u.v.m., kamen mit 32 Chören aus über 20 Nationen in exklusiven Festival-Konzerten in den schönsten und bedeutendsten Kirchen Roms und des Vatikans zusammen, um ein völkerverbindendes Zeichen für den Weltfrieden und die Ökumene zu setzen. „Musica Sacra a Roma“ steht unter der Schirmherrschaft von Seiner Eminenz Kardinal Paul Poupard, Präsident Pontificium Consilium De Cultura, Vatikan.

Anläßlich des Mozartjahres 2006 initiierte er den „Little Amadeus Aktionstag“ an deutschen Grundschulen gemeinsam mit dem TV Produzenten Peter Will der gleichnamigen Erfolgs-TV-Serie. Die Zeichentrickserie von KI.KA, ARD und ZDF – wurde mehrfach mit dem „Echo Klassik für Kinder“ ausgezeichnet. Das Projekt unter der Schirmherrschaft der Deutschen Mozart-Gesellschaft hat zum Ziel, Kindern klassische Musik auf unterhaltsame Weise nahe zu bringen. 2007 initiierte er als künstlerischer Leiter in Kooperation mit der Volkswagen AG Wolfsburg und der Deutschen Post AG, die Little Amadeus Live Kinderkonzertreihe. Die aufwendige Bühnenshow mit Schauspielern, original Filmeinspielern, Solisten und Sinfonie Orchester präsentierte sich in rund 70 Konzerten in einem Jahr in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz, u.a. in der Deutschen Oper Berlin, dem Gewandhaus zu Leipzig, dem Mozarteum Salzburg, den Konzerthäusern Dortmund und Freiburg sowie der Gläsernen Manufaktur von Volkswagen in Dresden (Regie Joachim Jäckel/Drehbuch Klaus Wirbitzky). Für den ersten von drei geplanten Little Amadeus Kinofilmen hat er die Musik mit den Wiener Philharmonikern und Zubin Mehta aufgenommen.

Neben seiner solistischen Tätigkeit macht er auch mit dem von ihm gegründeten Ensemble „Ten of the Best“ Furore, das zehn der weltbesten Trompeter vereint und mit dem er regelmäßig erfolgreich auf Japan-, USA- und Europa-Tour geht. Im August 2001 eröffneten sie, mit einer eigens für dieses Ereignis komponierten Fanfare vor 70.000 Zuschauern, die Arena AufSchalke, das modernste Fussballstadion seiner Art in der Welt. Highlight 2006 unter seiner künstlerischen Leitung war die „Playtime Live City Concert Tour“, das deutschlandweite Musikfestival im Rahmen der FIFA Fussball Weltmeisterschaft 2006TM, unterstützt durch das Organisationskomitee FIFA WM 2006, Schirmherr: Dr. Theo Zwanziger mit 16 Eventkonzerten von Bremen bis Ludwigshafen, von Rügen bis Norderney, auf repräsentativen öffentlichen Plätzen sowie an kulturhistorisch bedeutsamen Stätten, wie der Sächsischen Staatsoper Dresden, Semperoper und dem Marktplatz in der Händelstadt Halle. Als Musikprojekte präsentierte Otto Sauter „Ten of the Best plus one“, die auf Wunsch der FIFA mit 11 Trompetern an den Start gingen, sowie „The Power of Parsifal“, ein All-Star-Team der internationalen Jazz-Szene, beide im Zusammenspiel mit den Sinfonie-Orchestern der Konzertstädte.

Regelmäßig arbeitet Otto Sauter mit renommierten Künstlerkollegen und Charakterdarstellern aus dem Schauspielgenre zusammen, die er einlädt mit ihm neue Programme in Konzerten, auf Festivals und Tourneen zu präsentieren. Die Programme bilden eine Synergie aus Musik und literarischen Texten wie „Casanova: Wiedersehen mit einer großen Liebe“ mit Mario Adorf, „Venezianische Weihnacht“ mit Michael Mendl, „Heinrich von Kleist: Die Heilige Cäcilie oder die Gewalt der Musik“ mit Mathieu Carrière oder die „Tagebücher der Cosima Wagner“ mit Mareike Carrière.

Otto Sauter arbeitet mit Orchestern und Künstlern wie Wiener Philhamoniker, Philharmonia Orchestra London, RSO Prag, RSO des MDR und HR, Tschechische Philharmonie, Malmö Symphony Orchestra, Beethoven Orchester Bonn, Bachcollegium Leipzig, Sinfonia Varsovia, Wiener Kammerorchester, Münchner Kammerorchester, Staatliches Orchester Kiew, Cappella Istropolitana, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim, Christoph Poppen, Marcello Viotti, Hugh Wolff, Roman Kofmann, Mikis Theodorakis, Edita Gruberova, Maria Farantouri, Ray Charles, Maynard Ferguson, Maurice André, José Carreras, Gösta Winberg, Ivo Porgorelich, Elena Bashkirova, Montserrat Caballé, Lucia Aliberti, Jochen Kowalski, Bobby McFerrin, Michael Mendl, Mario Adorf, Mareike und Mathieu Carrière, Gert Hof, Edson Cordeiro, Level 42 Keyboarder Mike Lindup, Orange Blue Gitarrist Roland Cabezas, Sting Gitarrist Dominic Miller u.v.m.